JFW Awards

VBJ JFW Achievers Awards 2023: A Memorable Evening Honouring Women Achievers!

A wonderful 13th Edition!

A celebration like no other, year after year JFW continues to award women achievers from various fields and walks of life. A night dedicated to extraordinary women and their unrelenting spirit. Joined by their family, friends and notable people from the film industry, the achievers were the real stars of the night! Helping us make this event a grand success were title sponsor VBJ, powered by Prithvi Innerwear and GT Holidays, co-presented by Lia Agarbathigal and with Spinz India and Udhaya TMT bars as associate sponsors.

The stage was set and the red carpet was laid out at the Chennai Trade Center on September, 8th 2023. An extravagant setup and a galaxy of achievers made the event a raging success. With awards presented to Aishwarya Rajesh, Sameera Reddy, Dhanya Rajendran, S Vadivukkarasi, Preethi Srinivasan, Vaikom Vijaylakshmi, Arathi Arun, Issa Fathima and Ranjini Manian, we concluded the 13th edition of VBJ JFW Achievers Awards. Mirchi Vijay and Anjana hosted the event evelating the night with glamour, fun and infectious energy. The night had a few surprises in store for the attendees as two special segments were also planned. The teaser for JFW’s new web series titled The Apartment was launched by Abhirami Venkatachalam and Ajay Melvin. A special congratulatory AV was played to applaud Devi Shri Prasad, who won a National Award as a music director for Pushpa- the Rise. 

About the Awardees

Vaikom Vijaylakshmi

Vaikom Vijayalakshmi, a name that’s synonymous with melody, is a playback singer with an exceptional and iconic voice. Her inspirational story is a true testament to how a strong will can help you overcome anything. Born with a visual impairment, Vaikom’s talent and her parents’ encouragement gave her the wings to fly. She was presented the award by Kala Master and Mr Balan from Prithvi Innerwear. The audience witnessed a truly emotional moment on stage when Vaikom was presented with the Award for Excellence in Music. 


Preethi Srinivasan

Preethi Srinivasan is a name that resonates with resilience and determination, her story embodies the unwavering spirit of overcoming adversity. Soulfree is a charitable trust started by her to extend a helping hand to those grappling with disabilities. Soulfree, through its comprehensive training programs, enabling individuals to explore diverse professions such as radio jockeys and audiobook recording artists, helps people find a new lease on life. An extraordinary woman, Preethi Srinivasan stands as a beacon of hope, leading towards a more inclusive and compassionate world. She was presented with the award for Excellence in Social Service by Kala Master accompanied by Mr Habibur Rahman from Udhayam TMT. 


S Vadivukkarasi 

Vadivukkarasi is an artist who has graced the screens and our hearts for over four decades. With a career that has spanned the sands of time, she has undoubtedly carved a place in our memories. Having appeared in more than 450 movies and 10 Tamil serials, her artistic footprint extends across all four southern languages. An icon, a legend and a true superstar, she was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from Saranya Ponvannan and GT Holidays.  


Dhanya Rajendran

Dhanya Rajendran received the Award for Excellence in Journalism for her contribution to the field and a career spanning over 2 decades. She is the co-founder and the Editor-in-Chief of The News Minute which in just nine years has risen to prominence as a trusted source for breaking news and essential stories from South Indian states. Her journey has been characterized by an unwavering commitment to shedding light on critical issues, from politics to human rights, and gender-based violence to disaster coverage. The award was made even more special when the co-founder and Editor-in-chief of JFW, Bina Sujit presented her with the same. 


Issa Fathima

Dr Issa Fathima Jasmine was presented the Award for Excellence in Social Service to recognise and applaud the work she has done to combat food wastage and hunger in the city. She is an accomplished Orthodontist and an Assistant Professor, known for her expertise in treating children. She founded Ayyamittu Unn under The Public Foundation where installed community fridges across various locations in Chennai such as T Nagar, Besant Nagar, OMR, Anna Nagar and Ashok Nagar to name a few. She was presented the award by Saranya Ponnvanan accompanied by Mr Kumar from Lia Agarpathigal. 


Ranjini Manian

Dr Ranjini Manian, Founder-Chairperson of the Championwoman is a non-profit organization with a profound mission. Her mission revolves around empowering women and young girls through transformative life leadership coaching. With a reach extending to over half a million lives, the Foundation aims at maximising emotional, physical and leadership skills for women. The goal is to reduce the workforce gender gap in India so that women can have a successful career and create a self-empowered women workforce in India. None other than Siddharth was there to present the award to her for Excellence in Women Empowerment. 


Arathi Arun

Arathi Arun is a gold medalist in the Powerlifting and Bench Press Championship. She made history in 2019 by winning 5 gold medals in the Commonwealth Powerlifting and Bench Press Championship. When she won her first gold at the Asian Powerlifting Championship in Hong Kong, she secured her place as one of the top powerlifters in the world. A mother of 2, Arathi started powerlifting at the age of 40 after the birth of her second child. The award for Excellence in Sports was presented to her to honour her remarkable journey. It was presented by the lead pair starring in JFW’s next web series titled The Apartment. 


Sameera Reddy

Sameera’s initial foray into the world of cinema left audiences in awe of her, her portrayal of Meghna in Vaaranam Aayiram being one of her most iconic roles. But in a world dominated by unrealistic beauty standards, she strives to break barriers through her social media profile. Her relatable posts throw light on the realistic standards set for women all over the world. And through her reach, she spreads body positivity and self-acceptance. The award was presented to her by Devi Shri Prasad aka DSP and Mr Jithendra Vummudi of VBJ. The moment on stage was made even more special when DSP sang and danced with Sameera making it a memorable event. 


Aishwarya Rajesh

Aishwarya Rajesh is an actor and performer par excellence. She stands out for her remarkable talent and the memorable roles she has portrayed over the years. She has created a niche for herself in the Tamil film industry and continues to grow as a performer and artist with every film. To commemorate her feats over the years, JFW presented her with the award for Excellence in Cinema this year. Her role in Farhana or the one in The Great Indian Kitchen certainly made an indelible mark on our hearts and minds. This award was the last one for the event and was presented by DSP and Sameera Reddy along with Ms Aishwarya from Spinz BB Pro face Cream. 

back to top icon
More in JFW Awards
Empowering Performances: Aishwarya Rajesh, Meetha Raghunath and Bhavani Sre win Best Actress at the JFW Movie Awards 2024!


Twin Birds JFW Movie Awards 2024: A Spectacular Awards Night Dedicated To Women In The Film Industry Is Here!