JFW Awards

Iraivi Presents JFW Movie Awards 2019: An Evening Of Glitz, Glamour And Substance!

It was one helluva night!

The JFW Movie Awards presented by Iraivi and Powered by MAuto Pride, Colour Partner Nippon Paint and Associate sponsor Medimix, was a success beyond imagination. The Award ceremony was one-of-a-kind (that was acknowledged by all the celebrities present) and was a huge hit at its very first edition.

It was a star-studded evening and a night worth remembering. The sets were chic and extravagant. Looked like they could literally set the stage on fire. The atmosphere was well lit for the phenomenal evening.


The event saw a huge lineup of the best of the best from the Tamil Film Industry. Among the awardees and presenters at the event were actresses Trisha, Aishwarya Rajesh, Saranya Ponvanan, Revathy, Poornima Bhagiyaraj, Eswari Rao, actors Jayam Ravi, Sivakarthikeyan, Vijay Sethupathy, Arun Vijay, Ponvanan, Harish Kalyan,  directors  KS Ravikumar, Bhagiyaraj, Gautham Menon, AL Vijay, Arunraja Kamaraj, Choreographer Brindha Gopal, producers Hema Rukmani,  Sujatha Vijayakumar and Music Director DSP among others.

A grand awards night full of glitz and glamour was not just brimming with star power, but was also a night of celebrating the stalwart women artists from on and behind the screen. The winners were adjudged in 14 categories, based on their work in Tamil cinema from 2018. 11 out of the 14 winners were picked by an online voting system, wherein 2.3 million votes in total were garnered for all the artists. Empowerment was the tone of the evening with our awardees and presenters acknowledging the importance of women in cinema, be it in front of the camera or away.


List of winners:

The best actress in a lead role – Trisha Krishnan for ‘96 (Presented by Actress Revathy).


The best actress critics choice – Aishwarya Rajesh for Kanaa (Presented by actor Vijay Sethupathi)


Best child artist – Ditya for Lakshmi (Presented by producer Hema Rukmini and Mr.Vinod Rajendran, Channel Partner, Nippon Paint)


Best actress in a supporting role – Saranya Ponvannan for KoKo (Presented by director KS Ravikumar, Mr. Mansoor Ali Khan, founder of MAuto Pride and Mrs. Yasmeen Jawahar, CEO of MAuto Pride)


Best debutante – Raiza Wilson for Pyaar Prema Kadhal (Presented by actor Harish Kalyan).


Best woman-centric movie of 2018 – Kanaa (Presented by director Gautham Menon and Bina Sujit, Editor-In-Chief of JFW magazine to Sivakarthikeyan, the Producer of the Film).


Best actress in a comic role – Revathy for Gulebagavali (presented by Veteran actor/director K.Bhagyaraj)


Best director of women-centric film – Arunraja Kamaraj for Kanaa (Presented by Eshwari Rao and Poornima Bhagyaraj).


Best Dubbing Artist – Deepa Venkat for Imaikka Nodigal (Presented by actor/director Ponvannan).



Best Costume Designer – Amrita Ram for Vada Chennai (Presented by music director Devi Sri Prasad).



Woman Producer of the Year – Sujatha Vijayakumar for ‘Adanga Maru’ (Presented by actor Jayam Ravi).



Best Choreographer – Brindha Gopal (Presented by actor Arun Vijay).



Special Recognition of Young Talent – Aaradhana Sivakarthikeyan for Vayadi Petha Pulla in Kanaa (Presented by director AL Vijay).




The beautiful Gowri G Kishan won a million hearts with her charm, charisma and dance moves to the tunes of hit songs like Kadhale Kadhale and Rowdy Baby.




Music directors Vivek and Mervin made the audience groove to their music and made the evening more charming. They sang many of their hits including Nenjukulla Nee and Guleba.




Anchors Archana and Shah made the evening a delightful one with their insightful and humorous talks.



Last but not least, we would like to take the pride in putting a collective team effort as Team JFW in making the show a grand success.

We would like to thank our presenting sponsor Iraivi – wedding and party wear, MAuto Pride our Powered by Sponsor, Colour Partner Nippon Paint, Associate Sponsor Medimix and Radio Partner. Radio One. This wouldn’t have been possible without you!


back to top icon
More in JFW Awards
Empowering Performances: Aishwarya Rajesh, Meetha Raghunath and Bhavani Sre win Best Actress at the JFW Movie Awards 2024!


Twin Birds JFW Movie Awards 2024: A Spectacular Awards Night Dedicated To Women In The Film Industry Is Here!