IIFA Awards 2018: Sridevi Wins Posthumous Award, Rekha Performs, And Ranbir Kapoor Dazzles!

All the updates here!

The coveted IIFA Awards aka the International Indian Film Academy awards was held in Bangkok this weekend celebrating its 19th edition, and much like the previous years, this year, too, was bigger and better. Stars dressed in their best, some performing, some winning, and some presenting, all walking the fancy green carpet at the Siam Niramit theatre.

The night had several moments, many of them involving performances and winners. Late actress Sridevi was posthumously given the Best Actress award for her performance in her last film Mom. Vidya Balan’s Tumhari Sulu won the Best Film award while Newton won Best Story. The Best Actor award went to Irrfan Khan, the actor who is battling a tumour and is undergoing treatment in the UK.

Among performances, many witnessed veteran actress Rekha stunning everybody with her performance on stage. She was performing after two decades and people couldn’t take their eyes off her! Ranbir Kapoor, too, was all things awesome on stage.

Hosted by Karan Johar and Riteish Deshmukh, the event had its fun moments and some solemn ones. While many A-listers gave the event a miss, personalities like Anupam Kher, Anil Kapoor, Kriti Sanon, Dia Mirza, Ranbir Kapoor, Arjun Kapoor, and others attended the event.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Film – Tumhari Sulu

Best Director – Saket Chaudhary, Hindi Medium 

Best Actor (Female) – Sridevi Kapoor, Mom

Best Actor (Male) – Irrfan Khan, Hindi Medium

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Female) – Meher Vij, Secret Superstar 

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Male) – Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Mom 

Best Story – Amit V Masurkar, Newton

Best Music Direction – Amaal Mallik, Tanishk Bagchi, Akhil Sachdeva, Badrinath Ki Dulhania

Best Background Score – Pritam, Jagga Jasoos

Best Screenplay – Nitesh Tiwari, Shreyas Jain, Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Dialogues – Hitesh Kewalya, Shubh Mangal Saavdhan

Best Choreography – Vijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani, Galti Se Mistake (Jagga Jasoos)

Best Cinematography –Marcin Laskawiec, Tiger Zinda Hai

Best Editing – Shweta Venkat Mathew, Newton

Best Lyrics – Nusrat Fateh Ali, A1 Melody Fana and Manoj Muntashir, Mere Rashke Qamar (Baadshaho)

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Meghna Mishra, Main Kaun Hoon (Secret Superstar)

Best Playback Singer (Male)- Arijit Singh, Hawayein (Jab Harry Met Sejal)

Best Sound Design – Dileep Subramaniam and Ganesh Gangadharan (YRF Studios), Tiger Zinda Ha

Best Special Effects – Ny Vfxwala (Prasad Vasant Sutar), Jagga Jasoos

back to top icon
More in Movies
Top 8 Big Budget South Indian Films of 2022!


10 Binge-Worthy Movies and Series On OTT That Released in November!