Padma Awards: From Prabhudeva to Sivamani, here are all the winners!


The Padma Awards for 2019 were announced on Republic Day. It is one of the highest civilian awards of the country, the awards are conferred in three categories in various disciplines – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. By Ancy Donal

The Padma Bhushan awardee from South India for Art – Acting – Film is Mohanlal Viswanathan Nair, an Indian actor, singer and producer.

He made his debut in a Malayalam film, Tiranottam and has worked in over 300 films across Malayalam, Tamil, Hindi, Telugu and Kanada Languages for four decades. The actor is a two-time winner of the National Award for Best Actor for Bharatham and Vanaprastham.

Other Awardees for the Art Category are, Prabhu Deva, a veteran actor and dancer is honoured with Padma Shri in the field of art- dance.

Apart from being known for his dancing prowess, the multi-talented and even directed several films in Tamil, Hindi and Telugu. Prabhu Deva ventured into choreography with the 1989 film Vetri Vizha starring Kamal Hassan and has choreographed over 100 films. He is in the field for more than 25 years. The actor has performed, acted and choreographed in several films in multiple languages. He has previously won two National Awards for Best Choreography, for a Tamil film, Minsara Kanavu and a Hindi film, Lakshya.

Anandan Sivamani is an Indian percussionist was conferred with Padma Shri.

He plays many instruments including drums, octoban, darbuka, udukai, ghatam and kanjira. Sivamani began his musical career at the age of 11. He has worked with Ilaiyaraaja, AR Rahman and other noted composers. Sivamani is a recipient of Kalaimamani award which was announced by Tamil Nadu Government in 2009.

Nartaki Natraj, Bharatanatyam dancer is conferred with Padma Shri.

She is a Bharatanatyam exponent and specializes in Tanjavur based Nayaki Bhava tradition. Born in the temple town of Madurai in Tamil Naidu, the 54-year-old she is the first trans person to receive the highest civilian award.

Other South Indian Padma Shri awardees:

Bangaru Adigalar – Spiritualism -Tamil Nadu

Sharath Kamal – Sports (Table Tennis) -Tamil Nadu

Ramaswami Venkataswami – Medicine (Surgery) -Tamil Nadu

Madurai Chinna Pillai – Social Work (Microfinance) -Tamil Nadu

R V Ramani – Medicine (Ophthalmology) -Tamil Nadu

Sunil Chhetri – Sports (Football) – Telangana

Harika Dronavalli – Sports (Chess) – Andhra Pradesh

Rohini Godbole – Science and Engineering (Nuclear) – Karnataka

K K Muhammed – Archaeology – Kerala

Sirivennela Seetharama Sastry – Art-Lyrics – Telangana

Sharada Srinivasan – Archaeology – Karnataka

Saalumarada Thimmakka – Social Work (Environment) – Karnataka

Swami Vishudhananda – Spiritualism – Kerala

Venkateswara Rao Yadlapalli – Agriculture – Andhra Pradesh

K G Jayan – Art-Music-Bhakti – Kerala

Rajeev Tharanath – Art-Music-Sarod – Karnataka


Padma Bhushan Awardee

S Nambi Narayan – Science & Engineering-Space – Kerala

back to top icon
More in News
Usha Uthup And Padma Subrahmanyan Conferred With The Padma Awards This Year!


Chennai Caste Killing: Wife Dies By Suicide Soon After Her Husband’s Death By Honor Killing!